VW Engine Final Painting

After two quick weeks of painting in acrylics, I have accomplished my final painting of the VW Engine 1.4 TDI 80hp. My original intent was to push the limits of colour and realism with a technical illustration and work outside of the box. Although the engine is still realistically depicted in shape, I had fun combining bright colours to give this engine its own personality!

VW Engine Final Painting
VW Engine Final Painting

One of the final challenges with doing this style of traditional painting and then using digital linework to hold it all together, is lining up the original vector linework. If you are interested in how I tackled this illustration, please view my process posts and I documented my steps of the painting.

Upon completion of this technical illustration of the VW engine, three pieces will be utilized for a gallery show which is coming up in the next couple of weeks. The final gallery pieces as well as information about the show will be posted in the next couple of days.

Leave a Reply

