VW Engine Linework

I just completed this portion of my most recent illustration as a personal project. I am currently working on a VW Engine. I originally wanted a technical piece to add to my portfolio, however I also had a desire to pick up a paint brush again. Most Technical Illustrators complete their colour renderings of an illustration on the computer these days and I wanted to work on my piece traditionally.

I have recently completed the digital linework to this illustration.

Digital Linework of VW Engine
Digital Linework of VW Engine

My next step in the process is to use a matte medium to transfer my linework from the printed page onto a board that I will the use to paint. I would like to use the linework as the basis to my traditional painting to allow a tight technical piece to still stand out. Through the use of bright colours, I hope to bring this engine to life!

Check back in the coming weeks to see process on this technical illustration as I progress.

Leave a Reply

